Trust Governance

Balmoral Learning Trust’s governance structure follows Government guidance. It consists of 5 Members, 9 Directors and Local Governing Bodies for each school/academy.

Members (5)

Members have a duty to oversee the strategic direction of the Trust and to ensure that the decisions of the Directors are in accordance with the aims and objectives of the Trust. They act as the ‘shareholders’ of the Trust and are responsible for the Objects of the Company. Our Members are:

Peter Chapman       Chair of the Trust

Lee Francis

Hollie Jobes

Peter Maclellan

Juli Poulton

Historical: Edith Wood (01.03.2019)


Directors (7)

Directors are responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Trust, the creation of all strategic and business planning, the financial stability and sustainability of the Trust and overseeing of the Trust’s overall performance and delivery of agreed standards via the Chief Executive.  Our Directors are:

Peter Chapman       Chair of the Trust

Susan Bell                    Chief Executive

Debbie Brown

John Robe

Terry Hambleton

Alison Hodgson

1 Vacancy

Historical: Vicky Talbot (12.12.2108), Damien Todd (19.09.2019)

Finance and Audit Committee Terms of Reference

Performance and Standards Committee Terms of Reference

Member and Director Attendance 18-19


Local Governing Bodies

The Local Governing Bodies have 16 Governors, made up of staff, parents and co-opted governors from their communities. Governors have the responsibility to oversee and monitor standards and educational achievement and address the needs of their individual school, either themselves (if within their remit) or with the support of the Trust Board of Directors. The individual school/academy websites provide information on the make-up of these bodies.  Please see the Trust’s Scheme of Delegation for further information.

Chairs of Governors: 

  • East Herrington Primary Academy:    Alan Wright
  • Hetton Lyons Primary Scool:                   Linda Friberg

EHPA Governor Attendance 18-19

HLPS Governor Attendance 18-19


BLT Scheme of Delegation                 Governor Handbook 2019